Certified Nurses Are Everywhere Video

Certified Nurses
are Everywhere

Public Awareness Campaign

CPAN® and CAPA® Certification:

Nursing Passion in Action®

The American Board of Perianesthesia Nursing Certification, Inc. (ABPANC) is responsible for developing, sponsoring and managing the CPAN and CAPA nursing certification programs. These national professional certification programs are designed for registered nurses caring for patients who have experienced sedation, analgesia and anesthesia in a hospital or ambulatory care facility.

The expectations set for nurses are higher than ever before. ABPANC helps perianesthesia nurses meet these expectations by offering a certification process that validates knowledge gained through professional education and experience, ultimately promoting quality patient care. Earning the CPAN and/or CAPA credentials enhances job security, demonstrates leadership, promotes excellence in patient care, strengthens professional and personal pride, and achieves a nationally recognized standard beyond licensure.

Tour the ABPANC website to learn more about the CPAN and CAPA certification programs, including exam application instructions, deadlines, fees, test-taking strategies, recertification requirements, and much more. Don’t miss your opportunity to register for the CPAN/CAPA Practice Examinations, browse the most current edition of our newsletter, CertificatioNEWS, and shop for CPAN and CAPA products.

Our website has valuable resources for volunteers, coaches and nurses, with opportunities to share your story and nominate colleagues for an award. Nursing Passion in Action says it all.

CPAN and CAPA certification programs are accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (formerly known as the ABNS Accreditation Council).

ABPANC’s Nondiscrimination Policy

It is the policy of ABPANC that no individual shall be excluded from the opportunity to participate in the ABPANC certification program on the basis of age, sex, race, religion, national origin, ethnicity, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or gender identity.